Resident Program Update

Print Article

POSTED IN: EPIC - The Official Newsletter of MOCEP, May/June 2017,

June will soon arrive and that means that it’s time to bid farewell to graduating residents from across the state. These individuals have spent the last 3-4 years honing their craft and learning what it means to be an emergency physician. In the process they have cared for countless Missourians and improved the health of our state.

The residency programs aren’t slowing down and have some great updates they want to share, as well as congratulating those that are completing their programs.

Saint Louis University

  • Alexandra Green – Acute Care Solutions, Denver, CO
  • Jordan Jurgens – Cotton O’Neill Group – Stormont Vail Hospital, Topeka, KS
  • Michael Ofori – Apollo MD – Southern Regional Hospital, Riverdale, GA
  • Daniel Schwartz – St. Anthony’s Medical Center, St. Louis, MO
  • Jake Sanning – Anthony’s Medical Center, St. Louis, MO
  • Snehalata Topgi – Simulation Fellowship – SUNY Downstate, Kings County Hospital, Brooklyn, NY

University of Missouri – Columbia

  • Kelly Monahan, MD
  • Catherine Parker, MD
  • Jared Ebert, MD
  • Jonathan Ken, MD
  • Andrew Pelikan, MD
  • Reza Mohebbi, MD
  • Hana Putterman, MD
  • Raveen Shenoi, MD

Exciting times are here at the University of Missouri-Columbia residency program!  We are graduating our first class of EM residents.  We are also lucky to have Dr. Parker joining our faculty and Dr. Ken joining us for an administrative fellowship.  Our graduates will be taking new jobs in Missouri, California, Florida and New York.  Congratulations to all of them.

University of Missouri – Kansas City

  • Ryan Bachman, D.O., Borgess Medical Center, Kalamazoo, MI
  • William Beeler, M.D., Franciscan St. James Health, Olympia Fields, IL
  • Curtis Blake Buchanan, M.D., Florida Hospital Tampa, Tampa, FL
  • Brandon Elder, M.D., University of Maryland Emergency Physicians, Baltimore, MD
  • Brian Freeman, D.O., Team Health, St. Francis Hospital, Topeka, KS
  • Craig Hirsch, M.D., Adventist Health, Oregon
  • Melissa Howard Duncan, M.D., Baptist Medical Center, Jackson, MS
  • Lindsay Schwartz, D.O., Stormont-Vail Hospital, Topeka, KS
  • Adam Stuppy, M.D., Cox Hospital, Springfield, Missouri
  • Katherine Willet, M.D. University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
  • Paul Williams, D.O., M.S. Mayo Clinic Emergency Department-Mankato, MN

The UMKC EM Residency had an excellent year. We continue to incorporate more wellness, small-group teaching, and simulation into our curriculum. Dr. Jeff Beckett, Dr. Jim DeMeo, and Dr. Bryon Vogt were recently selected as Chief Residents for 2017-2018. Our graduating PGY-3s also recently presented their Senior Research Projects; Dr. Ryan Bachman was the recipient of the Elenbaas Outstanding Presentation Award. Additionally Dr. Jeff Beckett PGY-2 and Dr. Paul Williams PGY-3 were inducted into the UMKC Gold Humanism Honor Society. Dr. Brandon Elder was the recipient of the Outstanding Housestaff Award. Congratulations to all!

Washington University

  • Lucy Hormberg, MD – Kaiser San Leandro/Fremont, San Francisco, CA
  • Philip Chan, MD – Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
  • Christopher Miller, MD – EM-Specialists, Dayton, Ohio
  • Melissa Kroll, MD – Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO
  • Christopher Lawrence, MD – Kaiser Permanente-Sacramento & Roseville Hospitals, Sacramento, CA and Roseville, CA
  • Steven Hung, MD – Kaiser, South San Francisco, CA
  • Jacob Marganski, MD – Tacoma Emergency Care Group, Tacoma, WA
  • Aldo Andino, MD – US Acute Care Solutions-Southwest, Austin, TX
  • Daniel Kolinsky, MD – Southeast Louisiana Veterans Health Care System, New Orleans, LA
  • Lei Lei, MD – Missouri Baptist Medical Center, St. Louis, MO
  • Kurt Eifling, MD – University of Colorado, Aurora, CO