R.R. Hannas Emerency Physician and Resident of the Year Awards

R.R. Hannas Emerency Physician and Resident of the Year Awards

POSTED IN: Spring 2016,

R.R. Hannas Emergency Physician and Resident of the Year Awards

Your MOCEP board of directors upon recommendation of the Awards and Grants Committee, have approved a change in the RR Hannas Award.

As of this year, the RR Hannas award will now honor a practicing emergency physician in Missouri and an emergency medicine resident in one of the Emergency Medicine Residency programs.


The criteria for the recipients of this award are outlined below.


You may nominate a physician by submitting a letter to MOCEP detailing the accomplishments and reasons why he or she should be selected for this honor.


Due to the recent approval of this change, there will be a short window of opportunity to submit your nomination for this year’s awards. The recipients will be honored at this year’s spring membership meeting to be held in Springfield on Thursday, May 5, 2016. The membership meeting is being held in conjunction with the Dr. Tom Steele Emergency Care Symposium at Mercy Hospital’s Hammon’s Heart Institute this year.

The R. R. Hannas Emergency Physician of the Year award is named after Dr. Ralston R. Hannas, a “founding father” of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Hannas is a past president of the American College of Emergency Physicians and was the co-organizer, with Dr. Wiegenstein, of the first Scientific Assembly in 1969. He was also chairman of the committee that founded the American Board of Emergency Medicine, served on the Board for twelve years and was the organization’s fourth president. Dr. Hannas was also instrumental in helping organize the fifth Emergency Medicine residency program in the country, at Northwestern University, in 1973. In 1976 he moved to Kansas City where he practiced emergency medicine for 21 years.

The Awards

This annual award will recognize both a Missouri emergency medicine physician and a resident in a Missouri emergency medicine residency program.

The selected physician will receive payment for the 4-day registration at ACEP’s Scientific Assembly and reimbursement up to $300 for travel or hotel expenses. The selected resident will receive a $250 cash stipend. The award will be presented at the Missouri Chapter’s annual meeting (held in the spring) and the awardees are required to attend. Each will be reimbursed for up to one nights lodging and travel expenses.

Selection Criteria

This award is presented each year to a member of the Missouri College of Emergency Physicians who best exemplifies the spirit, skill, and dedication of America’s emergency physicians. Attributes which may be considered include:

  • Compassionate patient care with high levels of patient satisfaction
  • Community Service
  • Collaboration with nurses, EMT’s, and ancillary hospital staff
  • Advancement of emergency medicine through teaching, involvement in hospital activities or organized medicine

Selection Process

The Missouri College of Emergency Physicians will solicit nominations each year. Anyone with knowledge of an extraordinary physician member may submit a nomination. The Grants and Awards Committee will review the nominees and select the winner.


Submission Deadline is March 31, 2016