Resident Grants & Awards

R.R. Hannas, M.D. Emergency Resident of the Year Award

The R. R. Hannas Emergency Resident of the Year award is named after Dr. Ralston R. Hannas, a “founding father” of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Hannas is a past president of the American College of Emergency Physicians and was the co-organizer, with Dr. Wiegenstein, of the first Scientific Assembly in 1969. He was also chairman of the committee that founded the American Board of Emergency Medicine, served on the Board for twelve years and was the organization’s fourth president. Dr. Hannas was also instrumental in helping organize the fifth Emergency Medicine residency program in the country, at Northwestern University, in 1973. In 1976 he moved to Kansas City where he practiced emergency medicine for 21 years.

The Awards

This annual award will recognize a resident in a Missouri emergency medicine residency program.

The selected resident will receive a $250 award. The award will be presented at the Missouri Chapter’s annual meeting (held in the spring) and the awardees are required to attend. Award recipients will be reimbursed for up to one nights lodging.

Selection Criteria

This award is presented each year to one resident member of the Missouri College of Emergency Physicians who best exemplifies the spirit, skill, and dedication of America’s emergency physicians.  Attributes which may be considered include:

  • Compassionate patient care with high levels of patient satisfaction.
  • Community service.
  • Collaboration with nurses, EMT’s, and ancillary hospital staff.
  • Advancement of emergency medicine through teaching, involvement in hospital activities or organized medicine.

Selection Process

The Missouri College of Emergency Physicians will solicit nominations each year beginning October 1. Anyone with knowledge of an extraordinary physician or resident member may submit a nomination by December 31. The Grants and Awards Committee will review the nominees and select the winners by February 1.

Nominations now being accepted for 2019 Awards. (The application submission will re-open in September 2019.)


View previous RR Hannas Award Recipients

MOCEP Research Grant

Bill Jermyn MOCEP Advocacy Grant

The goal of this grant is to encourage Emergency Medicine Residents (must be a MOCEP member) to become active in the legislative activities of MOCEP and provide them with knowledge to advocate on behalf of Emergency Medicine in the future.

The grant will provide up to $1,000 per Emergency Medicine Residency program in Missouri to allow residents to attend the annual ACEP Leadership and Advocacy Conference (LAC) in Washington, D.C. MOCEP will use awarded funds to help underwrite attendees travel costs and expenses for grant recipients. The resident awardee is responsible for the registration fees. 

The total amount reimbursed to each resident will depend on the number of residents that apply and are selected for the grant. A total of $1,000 will be allotted per program. If a program only sends one resident the maximum amount awarded will be $500.

Grant recipients will be expected to write a short article about their experience at LAC for inclusion in the EPIC Newsletter following the conference.

To apply for this grant, please complete the online application by December 15. (Application submission will re-open in September 2019.)