Charles Sheppard, MD, FACEP, Receives MOCEP R.R. Hannas Physician of the Year Award

Charles Sheppard, MD, FACEP, Receives MOCEP R.R. Hannas Physician of the Year Award

POSTED IN: Forum Topic,

Charles Sheppard, MD, FACEP, was selected to receive one of two Missouri College of Emergency Physician’s (MOCEP) R.R. Hannas Physician of the Year Awards. He was nominated by Ted McMurry, MD, FACEP, of Mercy Hospital, Springfield. The award will be presented to Dr. Sheppard at the MOCEP Annual Membership Meeting on May 4, 2017, in Springfield, Mo.

In addition to being an emergency medicine physician, Dr. Sheppard is the Medical Director for Mercy Life Line Air Medical Service. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri – Columbia, School of Medicine, and completed his residency at the Presbyterian Hospital in San Francisco, Calif.

Dr. Sheppard’s list of accomplishments over his career are impressive. He completed a Fellowship in physiology for research in space medicine at the University of California at Berkeley; is licensed to practice medicine in four states; is Board Certified in Emergency Medicine from the American Board of Emergency Medicine and Board Certified in Internal Medicine from the American Board of Internal Medicine; is a fellow in the American College of Emergency Physicians and the American Academy of Emergency Medicine; and is active with many associations specializing in both air medical and emergency medicine.

Dr. Sheppard has been an active educator on both a local and national level, giving presentations at numerous symposia representing the specialties of emergency medicine, trauma, EMS, and aeromedical transport medicine. In 2012, he recieved the AMPA President’s award for contribution to educational programs. He is a favorite attending for medical students, physician assistant students, and paramedics rotating through the ED. Equally impressive is his continued quest for self improvement and self education, and the willingness to pass this on to his colleagues and emergency medicine professionals. His dedication has continued throughout his entire career and shows no sign of slowing after his 30 years in emergency medicine.

The R.R. Hannas Award is presented to an emergency medicine physician and resident each year, and is named after Dr. Ralston R. Hannas, a “founding father” of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Hannas is a past president of the American College of Emergency Physicians and was the co-organizer, with Dr. Wiegenstein, of the first Scientific Assembly in 1969. He was also chairman of the committee that founded the American Board of Emergency Medicine, served on the Board for twelve years and was the organization’s fourth president. Dr. Hannas was also instrumental in helping organize the fifth Emergency Medicine residency program in the country, at Northwestern University, in 1973. In 1976 he moved to Kansas City where he practiced emergency medicine for 21 years.